School Leadership & Staff

Our Leadership

Principal: Kristina Waugh

Kristina Waugh served as the Ann Richards School’s Academic Dean for 10 years before being named Principal in the Spring of 2018. Kristina has been instrumental in developing the school’s innovative curriculum and practices, including the three high school STEM pathways and our MakerSpace. With a 30-year career in education, Kristina demonstrates a passion for designing and implementing creative programming, pushing the Ann Richards School to the forefront of STEM education, leadership development and college readiness. Kristina is a repeat presenter at SXSWedu, National Coalition of Girls’ Schools and the National Project Lead the Way conferences. Kristina is married to an educator, has raised an educator and currently teaching her teenage son how to make his bed.

Academic Dean: Anah Sikorsky-Wiersema

Anah Wiersema began her career over 15 years ago as an art teacher at a K – 8 school in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Following her time in Milwaukee, she taught bilingual 1st grade at an International School in San Pedro Sula, Honduras. After teaching in Honduras, Anah was an art teacher in Round Rock, Texas, and eventually the curriculum coordinator of the International Baccalaureate program at the school. While teaching in Round Rock, Anah pursued her Masters degree at the University of Texas at Austin in Educational Administration. Her background in Art and curriculum design have made her passionate about the innovative curriculum at the Ann Richards School, especially as we continue to integrate the arts into our STEM work. Anah has presented multiple times at SXSWedu as well as at NCGS (National Coalition for Girls Schools) and the National Project Lead the Way conference. This is her sixth year at Ann Richards and is thrilled to see the students she started with now as Juniors and Seniors that are ready to change the world! Anah is married and is the mom to the cutest, most serious little boy on the planet.

Assistant Principal for High School: Christina Almaraz Ortiz

Christina Almaraz Ortiz has spent the last 24 years serving school communities. Born and raised in San Antonio, her educational pathway began with San Antonio ISD, where she served as a math and Spanish teacher. She earned her master’s degree and began her administrative career with Austin ISD. After serving the International High School, the Early College program, and a single-gender environment, she brings in a sense of community, service, and progress. She values education and the many opportunities it provides individuals, families, and communities. Therefore, her values align with the mission of the Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders. She is ready to support our STARS and families through their educational journey. Christina is married to her fun-loving husband and they have one daughter, who currently is working and attending college. They spend quality time with family, friends, and their fur baby, Ripley.

Assistant Principal for Middle School: Isadora Day

Isadora Day may not have started her career as a teacher, but she got to the Ann Richards School as fast as she could. Before she chose to become an educator, she was a reporter for the Austin American-Statesman and the San Antonio Express-News. While at the Express-News, she met Ann Richards and discovered the mission of the Ann Richards School. She was undeniably drawn to Ann, always wanting to keep up with the vision of young women leaders graduating from college. For five years, she was a 4th grade ESL and bilingual teacher and campus leader at Hart Elementary. While teaching, she earned her Master’s Degree in Education Administration and attended the Austin ISD Assistant Principal Pathways Academy. Isadora is thrilled to begin her administration career at one of the best schools in the nation. She has a pug, a dachshund, and a wonderful husband. When she isn’t at school, she is probably kickboxing, camping, cooking, or reading.

2020-2021 Faculty & Staff Contacts

<
LAST NAME FIRST NAME JOB TITLE EMAIL WORKPHONE
Aguilar Linda Middle School Band Director linda.aguilar@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Anderson Mara Parent Support Specialist mara.anderson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Bingham Emily Delta/Percussion/PALS emily.bingham@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Blackburn Donna STEM donna.blackburn@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Blanchard Cristen School Resource Officer cristen.blanchard@austinisdpolice.org (512) 414-3236
Brown Meg Physical Education, Chair meg.brown@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Bryant Amy 11th-12th Counselor amy.bryant@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Castañon-Hernandez Marissa Theatre Arts, Fine Arts Chair marissa.castanon-hernandez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Coghill Shelby Yearbook, Physics, Delta shelby.coghill@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Collins Kimberly Math/Engineer kimberly.collins@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Connell Oren Maker Technology Coach oren.connell@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Cyr Jackie Physical Education jackie.cyr@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Day Isadora 6th & 7th grade Assistant Principal & Behavior Coordinator isadora.day@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Dean Margaret English margaret.dean@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
DiCuffa Jill Director of Programs jill.dicuffa@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Eakin Abby French, LOTE Chair abby.eakin@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Fitzgerald Amanda Science amanda.fitzgerald@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Garcia Lisa Secretary lisa.garcia@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Hadzovic Elvir Cafeteria Manager elvir.hadzovic@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Hatch Michael HS Social Studies michael.hatch@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Heineman Eric College Advisor eric.heineman@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Hernandez Valorie MS Math valorie.hernandez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
House Jacob Social Studies jacob.house@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Howard Stephen Band Director stephen.howard@austinisd.org(512) 414-3236
Howk Jane 9th-10th Counselor jane.howk@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ingham Debika Math/STEM debika.ingham@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Jenkins Sierra Physical Education sierra.jenkins@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Josephson Ana STEM ana.josephson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Kizer Adrienne Science, Chair adrienne.kizer@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Kuriakose Elaine Science elaine.kuriakose@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Langford Andrew Biomedical/Chemistry/Biology, Science Chair andrew.langford@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Langley Jamie English, ELAR Chair jamie.langley@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Limón Barbara Attendance/Subs/PEIMS barbara.limon@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Loera Julie Bookkeeper julie.loera@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Lucero Joanna Science joanna.lucero@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Mackoff Caryn Social Studies caryn.mackoff@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Marino Albert Math albert.marino@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Martínez Diana Art/7th Grade STARS diana.martinez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Martínez Rivera Maria Registrar maria.martinezrivera@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Mauser Shawn Librarian shawn.mauser@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Mayo Carey Librarian Assistant carey.mayo@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
McLaurin Cierra MS Math cierra.mclaurin@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Molina Virginia Head Custodian virginia.molina@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Neal Kelly English kelly.neal@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ortiz Christina 9th & 10th grade Assistant Principal christina.almarazortiz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Palmer Caitlin MS English caitlin.palmer@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ramírez Juan Social Studies juan.ramirez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ramsey Carol Computer Information Systems carol.ramsey@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Rice Laura MS Science laura.i.rice@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Roberts Doy STARS/Dance doy.roberts@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Roy Sharon STARS Chair sharon.roy@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ruíz Juan Spanish juan.ruiz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Rutz Christena Lead Counselor – 6th-8th christena.rutz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Salem-Zafiro Regina Spanish regina.salemromo@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Sandberg-Thakrar Tami Social Studies tami.sandberg-thakrar@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Sanders Denise Chemistry/Biomedical denise.sanders@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Schnautz Liz Spanish liz.schnautz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Sikorsky-Wiersma Anah Academic Dean & 11th & 12th Grade Academic & Behavior Coordinator anah.sikorsky@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Smith Jazmine Security Guard jazmine.smith@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Smith Matt Art/Engineer matt.smith@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Soden Roger Media, CTE Chair roger.soden@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Tijerina Alejandro Orchestra Director alejandro.tijerina@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Vargas Alejandra STEM alejandra.a.vargas@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Vásquez Yvette Choir/Piano yvette.vasquez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Verret Kelly Nurse kelly.verret@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Walker Sarah English/Journalism sarah.v.walker@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ward Travis Special Education/Inclusion travis.ward@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Warner Carey STARS carey.warner@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Waugh Kristina Principal kristina.waugh@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Welser Brianne Social Studies, Chair brianne.welser@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
White Kris Athletic Trainer kristine.white@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Williams Kat Band/Color Guard katherine.williams@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Willie Danielle English danielle.willie@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236

Stay in touch with the Ann Richards School through Foundation updates.