School Leadership & Staff

Our Leadership

Principal: Kristina Waugh

Kristina Waugh served as the Ann Richards School’s Academic Dean for 10 years before being named Principal in the Spring of 2018. Kristina has been instrumental in developing the school’s innovative curriculum and practices, including the three high school STEM pathways and our MakerSpace. With a 30-year career in education, Kristina demonstrates a passion for designing and implementing creative programming, pushing the Ann Richards School to the forefront of STEM education, leadership development and college readiness. Kristina is a repeat presenter at SXSWedu, National Coalition of Girls’ Schools and the National Project Lead the Way conferences. Kristina is married to an educator, has raised an educator and currently teaching her teenage son how to make his bed.

Academic Dean: Anah Sikorsky-Wiersema

Anah Wiersema began her career over 15 years ago as an art teacher at a K – 8 school in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Following her time in Milwaukee, she taught bilingual 1st grade at an International School in San Pedro Sula, Honduras. After teaching in Honduras, Anah was an art teacher in Round Rock, Texas, and eventually the curriculum coordinator of the International Baccalaureate program at the school. While teaching in Round Rock, Anah pursued her Masters degree at the University of Texas at Austin in Educational Administration. Her background in Art and curriculum design have made her passionate about the innovative curriculum at the Ann Richards School, especially as we continue to integrate the arts into our STEM work. Anah has presented multiple times at SXSWedu as well as at NCGS (National Coalition for Girls Schools) and the National Project Lead the Way conference. This is her sixth year at Ann Richards and is thrilled to see the students she started with now as Juniors and Seniors that are ready to change the world! Anah is married and is the mom to the cutest, most serious little boy on the planet.

Assistant Principal for High School: Briana Castaño

Briana Castaño began her career in education as a high school science teacher and Varsity cheerleading coach, first at Travis High School and then at the Ann Richards School. She attended Harvard University where she received her bachelors degree in Human Evolutionary Biology. During her time at Harvard, Briana found her passion of empowering women through her membership of two powerful female organizations: The Seneca, Inc. and Latinas Unidas. After her time in Cambridge, Briana moved back to Texas to continue empowering young women through education. While teaching in Austin, she pursued her Masters degree at Concordia University in Educational Administration. Her teaching background in transformative technology and personalized learning has pushed The Ann Richards School to continue being a national leader in effective curriculum. Ms. Castaño lives with her partner (he is also an educator), their sweet daughter, and their German Shepherd. She loves fishing, bumming on the beach, and tacos.

Assistant Principal for Middle School: Isadora Day

Isadora Day may not have started her career as a teacher, but she got to the Ann Richards School as fast as she could. Before she chose to become an educator, she was a reporter for the Austin American-Statesman and the San Antonio Express-News. While at the Express-News, she met Ann Richards and discovered the mission of the Ann Richards School. She was undeniably drawn to Ann, always wanting to keep up with the vision of young women leaders graduating from college. For five years, she was a 4th grade ESL and bilingual teacher and campus leader at Hart Elementary. While teaching, she earned her Master’s Degree in Education Administration and attended the Austin ISD Assistant Principal Pathways Academy. Isadora is thrilled to begin her administration career at one of the best schools in the nation. She has a pug, a dachshund, and a wonderful husband. When she isn’t at school, she is probably kickboxing, camping, cooking, or reading.

2019-2020 Faculty & Staff Contacts

LAST NAME FIRST NAME JOB TITLE EMAIL WORKPHONE
Akins Kendall Math kendall.akins@austinisd.org (512) 841-4062
Anderson Mara Parent Support Specialist mara.anderson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Bingham Emily Delta/Percussion/PALS emily.bingham@austinisd.org (512) 414-3366
Brewer Jennifer English jennifer.d.brewer@austinisd.org (512) 841-4064
Blackburn Donna STEM donna.blackburn@austinisd.org (512) 414-3368
Brown Meg Physical Education, Chair meg.brown@austinisd.org (512) 414-3364
Bryant Amy 11th-12th Counselor amy.bryant@austinisd.org (512) 841-4097
Castaño Briana 8th, 9th & 10th grade Assistant Principal & Behavior Coordinator briana.castano@austinisd.org (512) 414-3346
Castañon-Hernandez Marissa Theatre Arts, Fine Arts Chair marissa.castanon-hernandez@austinisd.org (512) 841-4044
Coghill Shelby Yearbook, Physics, Delta shelby.coghill@austinisd.org (512) 841-4044
Collins Kimberly Math/Engineer kimberly.collins@austinisd.org (512) 841-4037
Connell Oren Maker Technology Coach oren.connell@austinisd.org (512) 414-3367
Cyr Jackie Physical Education jackie.cyr@austinisd.org (512) 414-3353
Dadmehr Shireen Math/Computer Science/Engineer shireen.dadmehr@austinisd.org (512) 841-4092
Day Isadora 6th & 7th grade Assistant Principal & Behavior Coordinator isadora.day@austinisd.org (512) 414-3344
Dean Margaret English margaret.dean@austinisd.org (512) 841-4065
Deeter Carolyn Math carolyn.deeter@austinisd.org (512) 841-4057
DesAutels Kimberly Science kimberly.desautels@austinisd.org (512) 841-4088
DiCuffa Jill Director of Programs jill.dicuffa@austinisd.org (512) 414-3340
Eakin Abby French, LOTE Chair abby.eakin@austinisd.org (512) 841-4073
Elizondo Amanda Assistant Band Director amanda.elizondo@austinisd.org (512) 414-3366
Enyioha Jessica College Advisor jessica.enyioha@austinisd.org (512) 841-4041
Garcia Lisa Secretary lisa.garcia@austinisd.org (512) 414-0422
Guzman Agustin Head Custodian agustin.guzman@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Hadzovic Elvir Cafeteria Manager elvir.hadzovic@austinisd.org (512) 841-4099
Hatch Michael English michael.hatch@austinisd.org (512) 841-4036
Heineman Eric College Advisor eric.heineman@austinisd.org (512) 841-7461
House Jacob Social Studies jacob.house@austinisd.org (512) 841-4067
Howard Stephen Band Director stephen.howard@austinisd.org (512) 841-4045
Howk Jane 8th-10th Counselor jane.howk@austinisd.org (512) 841-7464
Ingham Debika Math/STEM debika.ingham@austinisd.org (512) 841-4072
Jenkins Sierra Physical Education sierra.jenkins@austinisd.org (512) 414-3353
Josephson Ana STEM ana.josephson@austinisd.org (512) 841-4058
Kizer Adrienne Science, Chair adrienne.kizer@austinisd.org (512) 841-4055
Knox Anni English anni.knox@austinisd.org (512) 841-4033
Kufner Pauli Science pauline.kufner@austinisd.org (512) 841-4052
Lakshmanan Shamaa Math/Engineer, Math Chair shamaa.lakshmanan@austinisd.org (512) 841-4043
Langford Andrew Biomedical/Chemistry/Biology, Science Chair andrew.langford@austinisd.org (512) 414-4046
Langley Jamie English, ELAR Chair jamie.langley@austinisd.org (512) 841-4068
Limón Barbara Attendance/Subs/PEIMS barbara.limon@austinisd.org (512) 414-3347
Loera Julie Bookkeeper julie.loera@austinisd.org (512) 414-3389
Lucero Joanna Science joanna.lucero@austinisd.org (512) 414-3846
Mackoff Caryn Social Studies caryn.mackoff@austinisd.org (512) 841-4069
Marino Albert Math albert.marino@austinisd.org (512) 841-4077
Martínez Diana Art/7th Grade STARS diana.martinez@austinisd.org (512) 841-4031
Martínez Rivera Maria Registrar maria.martinezrivera@austinisd.org (512) 414-3358
Mauser Shawn Librarian shawn.mauser@austinisd.org (512) 414-3362
Mayo Carey Librarian Assistant carey.mayo@austinisd.org (512) 414-3360
Molina Virginia Custodial Crew Leader virginia.molina@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Neal Kelly English kelly.neal@austinisd.org (512) 841-4070
Parnell Savannah CIS Program Manager savannah.parnell@austinisd.org (512) 841-4083
Poage-Nixon Nancy Science nancy.poage-nixon@austinisd.org (512) 841-4053
Puckett Devi Social Studies, Social Studies Chair devi.puckett@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ramírez Juan Social Studies juan.ramirez@austinisd.org (512) 841-4066
Ramsey Carol Computer Information Systems carol.ramsey@austinisd.org (512) 841-4036
Roberts Doy STARS/Dance doy.roberts@austinisd.org (512) 841-4079
Roy Sharon STARS Chair sharon.roy@austinisd.org (512) 841-4060
Ruíz Juan Spanish juan.ruiz@austinisd.org (512) 841-4059
Rutz Christena Lead Counselor – 6th & 7th christena.rutz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3357
Sandberg-Thakrar Tami Social Studies tami.sandberg-thakrar@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Sanders Denise Chemistry/Biomedical denise.sanders@austinisd.org (512) 841-4049
Schnautz Liz Spanish liz.schnautz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Schweke Brooke Spanish brooke.schweke@austinisd.org (512) 841-4061
Smith Matt Art/Engineer matt.smith@austinisd.org (512) 841-4032
Soden Roger Media, CTE Chair roger.soden@austinisd.org (512) 414-3849
Tijerina Alejandro Orchestra Director alejandro.tijerina@austinisd.org (512) 414-6670
Vargas Alejandra STEM alejandra.a.vargas@austinisd.org (512) 414-4034
Vásquez Yvette Choir/Piano yvette.vasquez@austinisd.org (512) 841-4051
Verret Kelly Nurse kelly.verret@austinisd.org (512) 414-3369
Walker Sarah English/Journalism sarah.v.walker@austinisd.org (512) 414-3342
Ward Travis Special Education/Inclusion travis.ward@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Warner Carey STARS carey.warner@austinisd.org (512) 841-4054
Waugh Kristina Principal kristina.waugh@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Welser Brianne Social Studies brianne.welser@austinisd.org (512) 414-6679
White Kris Athletic Trainer kristine.white@austinisd.org (512) 414-3365
Wiersma Anah Sikorsky Academic Dean & 11th & 12th Grade Academic & Behavior Coordinator anah.sikorsky@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Williams Kat Band/Color Guard danielle.willie@austinisd.org (512) 414-3366
Willie Danielle English danielle.willie@austinisd.org (512) 841-4071

Stay in touch with the Ann Richards School through Foundation updates.