School Leadership & Staff

Our Leadership

Principal: Kristina Waugh

Kristina Waugh served as the Ann Richards School’s Academic Dean for 10 years before being named Principal in the Spring of 2018. Kristina has been instrumental in developing the school’s innovative curriculum and practices, including the three high school STEM pathways and our MakerSpace. With a 30-year career in education, Kristina demonstrates a passion for designing and implementing creative programming, pushing the Ann Richards School to the forefront of STEM education, leadership development and college readiness. Kristina is a repeat presenter at SXSWedu, National Coalition of Girls’ Schools and the National Project Lead the Way conferences. Kristina is married to an educator, has raised an educator and currently teaching her teenage son how to make his bed.

Assistant Principal, 11th & 12th: Luzvic Backstrom

Luzvic Backstrom is beyond thrilled to be a part of the Stars family. She is from Valencia, Venezuela and came to the United States in 2007 to learn English and go to school. She holds a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Music Education from the University of Southern Mississippi. She comes from a rich background in music, management, and community building. She began her career in Hattiesburg, Mississippi before moving to Texas. Luzvic was an orchestra director at LBJ Early College and LASA High schools and has over 9 years of classroom experience. Luzvic pursued a Master’s degree at the University of Texas at Arlington in School Administration and became a National Board Certified teacher while teaching at LBJ ECHS and LASA HS. Luzvic served many leadership roles and considers herself a life-long learner. She is passionate about community building and making strong connections between the families and the school. She has been a TMEA region chair for orchestras, mentor for National Board teachers and new teachers to the district, and a curriculum writer among other roles. Her favorite hobbies are watching Netflix with her husband, and playing games with her baby Melinda and her 19-pound calico cat named “Kitty”.

Assistant Principal, 8th, 9th & 10th: Christina Almaraz Ortiz

Christina Almaraz Ortiz has spent the last 24 years serving school communities. Born and raised in San Antonio, her educational pathway began with San Antonio ISD, where she served as a math and Spanish teacher. She earned her master’s degree and began her administrative career with Austin ISD. After serving the International High School, the Early College program, and a single-gender environment, she brings in a sense of community, service, and progress. She values education and the many opportunities it provides individuals, families, and communities. Therefore, her values align with the mission of the Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders. She is ready to support our STARS and families through their educational journey. Christina is married to her fun-loving husband and they have one daughter, who currently is working and attending college. They spend quality time with family, friends, and their fur baby, Ripley.

Middle School Director: Isadora Day

Isadora Day may not have started her career as a teacher, but she got to the Ann Richards School as fast as she could. Before she chose to become an educator, she was a reporter for the Austin American-Statesman and the San Antonio Express-News. While at the Express-News, she met Ann Richards and discovered the mission of the Ann Richards School. She was undeniably drawn to Ann, always wanting to keep up with the vision of young women leaders graduating from college. For five years, she was a 4th grade ESL and bilingual teacher and campus leader at Hart Elementary. While teaching, she earned her Master’s Degree in Education Administration and attended the Austin ISD Assistant Principal Pathways Academy. Isadora is thrilled to begin her administration career at one of the best schools in the nation. She has a pug, a dachshund, and a wonderful husband. When she isn’t at school, she is probably kickboxing, camping, cooking, or reading.

2021-2022 Faculty & Staff Contacts

LAST NAME FIRST NAME JOB TITLE EMAIL WORKPHONE
Aguilar Linda Middle School Band Director linda.aguilar@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Anderson Mara Parent Support Specialist mara.anderson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53001
Backstrom Luzvic Assistant Principal: 11th & 12th luzvic.backstrom@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Bingham Emily Band/Percussion emily.bingham@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Blackburn Donna STEM donna.blackburn@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Blanchard Cristen School Resource Officer cristen.blanchard@austinisdpolice.org (512) 414-3236
Brown Meg Physical Education, Chair meg.brown@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Bryant Amy 11th-12th Counselor amy.bryant@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53006
Castañon-Hernandez Marissa Theatre Arts, Fine Arts Chair marissa.castanon-hernandez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Cervantes Kassandra Physical Education kassandra.cervantes@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Coghill Shelby Delta/Yearbook shelby.coghill@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Connell Oren Maker Technology Coach/Engineering oren.connell@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Day Isadora Middle School Director isadora.day@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Dean Margaret English margaret.dean@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
DiCuffa Jill Director of Programs jill.dicuffa@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53013
Eakin Abby French, LOTE Chair abby.eakin@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Fitzgerald Amanda Science amanda.fitzgerald@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Garcia Lisa Secretary lisa.garcia@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53015
Hadzovic Elvir Cafeteria Manager elvir.hadzovic@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Hatch Michael Social Studies/STARS michael.hatch@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Heineman Eric College Advisor eric.heineman@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext.53017
Hernandez Valorie Math valorie.hernandez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
House Jacob Social Studies jacob.house@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Howard Stephen Band Director stephen.howard@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Howk Jane 9th-10th Counselor jane.howk@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53020
Ingham Debika Math/Engineering debika.ingham@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Jackson Jennifer Math jennifer.j.jackson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Jenkins Sierra Physical Education sierra.jenkins@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Josephson Ana STEM ana.josephson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Kizer Adrienne Science, Chair adrienne.kizer@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Kuriakose Elaine Science elaine.kuriakose@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Langford Andrew Biomedical/Chemistry/Biology, Science Chair andrew.langford@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Langley Jamie English, ELAR Chair jamie.langley@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Limón Barbara Attendance/Subs/PEIMS barbara.limon@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53027
Loera Julie Bookkeeper julie.loera@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53028
Lucero Joanna Science joanna.lucero@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Mackoff Caryn Social Studies caryn.mackoff@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Marino Albert Math albert.marino@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Martínez Diana Art/7th Grade STARS diana.martinez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Martínez Rivera Maria Registrar/College Center maria.martinezrivera@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53033
Mauser Shawn Librarian shawn.mauser@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53034
Mayo Carey Librarian Assistant carey.mayo@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53035
McLaurin Cierra Math cierra.mclaurin@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Molina Virginia Head Custodian virginia.molina@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Neal Kelly English kelly.neal@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ortiz Christina Assistant Principal: 8th – 10th christina.almarazortiz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Palmer Caitlin English caitlin.palmer@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ramírez Jennifer Special Education/Teacher Assistant jennifer.fabilaramirez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ramírez Juan Social Studies juan.ramirez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Rice Laura Science laura.i.rice@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Roberts Doy Dance doy.roberts@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Roy Sharon STARS Chair sharon.roy@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Rutz Christena Lead Counselor – 6th-8th christena.rutz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53043
Salem-Zafiro Regina Spanish regina.salemromo@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Sandberg-Thakrar Tami Social Studies tami.sandberg-thakrar@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Sanders Denise Chemistry/Biomedical denise.sanders@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Schnautz Liz Spanish liz.schnautz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Smith Jazmine Security Guard jazmine.smith@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Smith Matt Art/Engineering matt.smith@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Soden Roger Media, CTE Chair roger.soden@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Tijerina Alejandro Orchestra Director alejandro.tijerina@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Udy Gwyneth Math gwyneth.udy@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Vargas Alejandra STEM alejandra.a.vargas@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Vásquez Yvette Choir/Piano yvette.vasquez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Verret Kelly Nurse kelly.verret@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Walker Sarah English/Journalism sarah.v.walker@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ward Travis Special Education Coordinator travis.ward@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Warner Carey STARS carey.warner@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Waugh Kristina Principal kristina.waugh@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Welser Brianne Social Studies, Chair brianne.welser@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
White Kris Athletic Trainer kristine.white@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Wien Nancy Math nancy.wien@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Willie Danielle English danielle.willie@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236

Stay in touch with the Ann Richards School through Foundation updates.