School Leadership & Staff

Our Leadership

Principal: Lupita Narvaez

Lupita Narvaez was recently the Associate Principal of Lockhart High School in the Lockhart Independent School District. She previously served as the Director of Bilingual & Federal Programs in Georgetown ISD, prior to that she was an Administrative Supervisor of Compliance for the Multilingual Education Team in Austin ISD. Ms. Narvaez earned a Bachelor of Arts at Angelo State University and Masters of Educational Administration from Texas State University. Ms. Narvaez is student-centered and action-oriented. She passionately believes that all students can and will learn. Ms. Narvaez has a proven track record as a relational, servant leader who is collaborative and has an open-door policy. She believes in a team approach to leadership and is a strong proponent of building trust and community by using clear, consistent expectations and communication, as well as through welcoming parents and community to be an integral part of the school.

Academy Director: Christina Almaraz Ortiz

Christina Almaraz Ortiz has spent the last 24 years serving school communities. Born and raised in San Antonio, her educational pathway began with San Antonio ISD, where she served as a math and Spanish teacher. She earned her master’s degree and began her administrative career with Austin ISD. After serving the International High School, the Early College program, and a single-gender environment, she brings in a sense of community, service, and progress. She values education and the many opportunities it provides individuals, families, and communities. Therefore, her values align with the mission of the Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders. She is ready to support our STARS and families through their educational journey. Christina is married to her fun-loving husband and they have one daughter, who currently is working and attending college. They spend quality time with family, friends, and their fur baby, Ripley.

Assistant Principal, 11th & 12th: Luzvic Backstrom

Luzvic Backstrom is beyond thrilled to be a part of the Stars family. She is from Valencia, Venezuela and came to the United States in 2007 to learn English and go to school. She holds a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Music Education from the University of Southern Mississippi. She comes from a rich background in music, management, and community building. She began her career in Hattiesburg, Mississippi before moving to Texas. Luzvic was an orchestra director at LBJ Early College and LASA High schools and has over 9 years of classroom experience. Luzvic pursued a Master’s degree at the University of Texas at Arlington in School Administration and became a National Board Certified teacher while teaching at LBJ ECHS and LASA HS. Luzvic served many leadership roles and considers herself a life-long learner. She is passionate about community building and making strong connections between the families and the school. She has been a TMEA region chair for orchestras, mentor for National Board teachers and new teachers to the district, and a curriculum writer among other roles. Her favorite hobbies are watching Netflix with her husband, and playing games with her baby Melinda and her 19-pound calico cat named “Kitty”.

Assistant Principal, 6th & 7th: Shelly Hopson

Shelly Hopson is honored to join the Star family! Ms. Hopson earned her Masters degree in Educational Leadership from Texas State University and a Bachelors degree in Psychology from Meredith College (an all women’s school). Ms. Hopson’s teaching career began in Raleigh, NC at Washington GT Magnet Elementary. Her family moved to the Austin area in 2011, providing Ms. Hopson an opportunity to teach, learn, and grow in the International Baccalaureate curriculum in both Leander ISD at Grandview Hills Elementary and Meridian World School in Round Rock, Texas. She was active in leadership roles that promoted student voice and student leadership, inclusivity through equitable practices, and ensuring that every student has access to a quality education. Ms Hopson joins Ann Richards from a middle school in Leander ISD where she recently served as an Assistant Principal, Section 504 and Testing Coordinator. Ms. Hopson is grateful for the opportunity to serve at Ann Richards and strongly believes her entire career in education has been motivated by the goals of supporting and empowering others to be impactful in public education. She is excited to build relationships and partner with Star students and their families. She wants the community to know that she sees her young self in many of the young women that walk the Ann Richards halls. Ms. Hopson is committed to upholding the school’s five tenets, as well as providing a safe and joyful learning environment in which we all can bravely strive and thrive with positivity, respect, integrity, determination and excelling students to be their best self. Ms. Hopson is also a proud member of the esteemed Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi. In her free time, Ms. Hopson enjoys traveling, reading, cooking, spending time with family and playing with her two Labrador Retrievers, Sadie and Ivy.

2022-2023 Faculty & Staff Contacts

LAST NAME FIRST NAME JOB TITLE EMAIL WORKPHONE
Aguilar Linda Middle School Band Director, Fine Arts Co-Chair linda.aguilar@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Anderson Mara Parent Support Specialist mara.anderson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 43348
Anderson Minda Librarian minda.l.anderson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 10632
Backstrom Luzvic Assistant Principal: 11th & 12th luzvic.backstrom@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Blackburn Donna STEM donna.blackburn@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Boehme Mark STEM/Engineering mark.w.boehme@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Brewster James Social Studies james.brewster@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Brown Meg Physical Education, Chair meg.brown@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Burnell Ava Math ava.burnell@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Butler Heather Art heather.butler@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Cervantes Kassandra Physical Education kassandra.p.cervantes@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Christensen Nicole Nurse nicole.christensen@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Coghill Shelby Delta/Yearbook shelby.coghill@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Connell Oren Maker Technology Coach/Engineering oren.connell@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Dean Margaret English margaret.dean@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
DiCuffa Jill Director of Programs jill.dicuffa@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53013
Eakin Abby French, LOTE Chair abby.eakin@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Espinoza Gloria Counselor’s Secretary gloria.a.espinoza@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53268
Fitzgerald Amanda Science amanda.fitzgerald@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Garcia Lisa Secretary lisa.garcia@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53015
Heineman Eric College Advisor eric.heineman@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53017
Hopson Shelly Assistant Principal: 6th & 7th knachelle.hopson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
House Jacob Social Studies jacob.house@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Howk Jane 9th-10th Counselor jane.howk@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53020
Hui Christine Math christine.hui@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Jackson Jennifer Math, Co-Chair jennifer.j.jackson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Jenkins Sierra Physical Education sierra.jenkins@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Josephson Ana STEM ana.josephson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Kizer Adrienne Science, Co-Chair adrienne.kizer@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Langford Andrew Biomedical/Chemistry/Biology, Science Co-Chair andrew.langford@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Langley Jamie English, ELA Co-Chair jamie.langley@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Limón Barbara Attendance/Subs/PEIMS barbara.limon@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 43347
Marino Albert Math, Co-Chair albert.marino@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Martínez Rivera Maria Registrar/College Center maria.martinezrivera@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53033
Mayo Carey Librarian Assistant carey.mayo@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 43360
Moede Rachel Dyslexia Interventionist rachel.kendall@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Molina Virginia Head Custodian virginia.molina@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Narvaez Lupita Principal maria.narvaez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Neal Kelly English kelly.neal@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ortiz Christina Academy Director christina.almarazortiz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Paez Danielle Theater danielle.paez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Peralta Beatrice Bookkeeper beatrice.peralta@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ramírez Jennifer Special Education/Teacher Assistant jennifer.fabilaramirez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ramírez Juan Social Studies/Economics juan.ramirez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Roberts Doy Dance, Fine Arts Co-Chair doy.roberts@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53040
Robertson Jana Director of Bands jan.r.robertson@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Rodriguez Amanda English amanda.n.rodriguez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Roy Sharon STARS Chair sharon.roy@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Ruiz Juan Carlos Spanish juan.ruiz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Rutz Christena Lead Counselor – 6th-8th christena.rutz@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 53043
Salem-Zafiro Regina Spanish regina.salemromo@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Sanchez Victoria Social Studies victoria.sanchez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Sandberg-Thakrar Tami Social Studies tami.sandberg-thakrar@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Sanders Denise Chemistry/Biomedical denise.sanders@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Smith Matt Art matt.smith@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Soden Roger Media, CTE Chair roger.soden@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Stephen Akshata 11th-12th Counselor akshata.stephen@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236 ext. 57497
Strubhar Dannie Math/Engineering dan-thanh.strubhar@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Tijerina Alejandro Orchestra Director alejandro.tijerina@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Udy Gwyneth Math gwyneth.udy@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Vásquez Yvette Director of Choirs yvette.vasquez@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Walker Sarah English, ELA Co-Chair sarah.v.walker@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Warner Carey STARS carey.warner@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Welser Brianne Social Studies, Chair brianne.welser@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Whiteaker Amy Science amy.whiteaker@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236
Willie Danielle English danielle.willie@austinisd.org (512) 414-3236

Stay in touch with the Ann Richards School through Foundation updates.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.